top of page

Current Projects

CCP FB Header - Promo-01_edited.png

Carolyn is the current President of the Board of the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA), Los Angeles. Driven by art’s ability to educate, change and heal, and to bridge cultural and socio-economic divides, Carolyn recently made a substantial gift to MOCA of $10 million, expanding public access to art in Los Angeles. Her donation, which she announced at MOCA’s 40th anniversary benefit, will fund the museum’s first free general admissions program.



Moved by its powerful story of service dogs trained to partner with and support veterans who return home from war with PTSD, Carolyn is an Executive Producer of the upcoming film To Be of Service. The film is directed by Academy Award-nominated Josh Aronson and features original music. 


Visit the website

Carolyn is a founder of the free-of-charge camp for children with serious illness, which is part of Paul Newman’s Hole in the Wall Gang camps. Since 2004, The Painted Turtle has provided over 60,000 authentic camp experiences to children and their families, allowing them to grow, form meaningful friendships with other children and just be kids. 


For thirteen years, Carolyn has chaired the organization's annual benefit to raise awareness and funds for its programs. This year's sold-out event is Harvest Moon Gathering, an all-day music concert located in Lake Hughes, CA, and features musical performers including Neil Young, Father John Misty and Norah Jones.  


Learn more about The Painted Turtle


Carolyn is a board member of the Kennedy Center National Committee for the Performing Arts, whose community-based programs support, inspire and educate 11 million Americans per year. Their initiatives include early arts and adult education training and development programs, and supporting diversity and inclusion in the arts. The organization also produces free performances 365 days per year at the Kennedy Center, featuring more than 26,000 performers from all 50 states and more than 40 countries.   

Learn more about the Kennedy Center

Carolyn chairs the Americans for the Arts’ National Arts Awards and is the namesake of its annual Carolyn Clark Powers Lifetime Achievement Award, bestowed to such luminaries as Tony Bennett, Herbie Hancock, Sophia Loren and Mavis Staples. The organization's mission is to support how art positively affects change in our government, youth, communities and in the workplace. 

This year's recipient of the Carolyn Clark Powers Lifetime Achievement Award is the beloved

Los Angeles-based artist Luchita Hurtado. Other honorees at the 2019 Americans for the Arts National Arts Awards include musician Ben Folds, the Honorable Earle I. Mack, the CMA Foundation which works to provide every child with high-quality music education and Ben Platt, recipient of the Ted Arison Young Artist award.

bottom of page